Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”53803″]

FRAMINGHAM – The 2022 FIFA World Cup begins Sunday, November 20 in Qatar

The futsal/soccer tournament goes through December 18.

This will be the first World Cup to be held in the Arab world. And due to the extreme heat in summer months, the world soccer cup was moved to November & December from its usual June & July months.

The tournament will feature 32 participating teams. This is the last World Cup in this format as the 2026 World Cup will increase to 48 teams.

Held every 4 years, this is the 22nd FIFA World Cup.

[broadstreet zone=”56696″]

There is a lot of controversy with the Qatar location, as the country is LGBTQ+ unfriendly, has treated migrant workers poorly, and had promised FIFA it would not prohibit the sale of beer, and just a few days ago, announced it would limit beer at games.

The opening ceremony will take place on November 20, 2022 at the Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, prior to the opening match of the tournament between hosts Qatar and Ecuador.

Scheduled to perform at the opening ceremony is Korean musical group BTS member Jungkook and the Black Eyed Peas.

Colombian singer Shakira has withdrawn from performing and singer Dua Lipa denied her involvement “in any negotiation to perform”, calling out Qatar on its human rights violations leading up to the World Cup.

The United States is in Group B with England, Iran, and Wales.

[broadstreet zone=”61074″]

USA will play Wales on Monday, November 21 at 2 p.m.

USA will battle England on Friday, November 25.

Brazil is in Group G with Switzerland, Serbia, and Cameroon.

Brazil’s first game is on Thanksgiving, November 24 against Serbia at 2 p.m.

Brazil’s next game is Friday, December 2 at 2 p.m. against Cameroon.

Then the round of 16 games begins on December 3.

The finals are on December 18.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be the 23rd FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international men’s soccer championship contested by the national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The tournament will be jointly hosted by 16 cities in three North American countries: Canada, Mexico, and the United States, including games played at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough.

[broadstreet zone=”70107″]

[broadstreet zone=”58610″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.