Framingham City Council Approves Hamerla For 3-year Term on South Middlesex Regional School Committee

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

FRAMINGHAM – The 11-member Framingham City Council last night, August 16, unanimously approved Mayor Charlie Sisitsky’s nominee for the South Middlesex Regional Vocation School Committee, which oversee Keefe Technical High school.

Re-nominated to the School Committee was District 3 resident Sara Hamerla. Her term now ends on June 30, 2025

The School Committee is comprised of residents from Framingham, Ashland, Natick, Holliston, & Hopkinton to mirror the students who attend the vocation high school located on Winter Street in Framingham. The majority of the students come from the City of Framingham.

The Regional Vocational School Committee’s primary responsibility is to establish those purposes, programs, and procedures that will best produce the educational achievement needed by our students.

The Committee is charged with accomplishing this while also being responsible for the wise management of resources available to the school system.

The Committee must fulfill these responsibilities by functioning primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy, and by evaluating the results. It must carry out its functions openly while seeking the comments of the public, students, and staff in its decision-making processes.

The chair of the School Committee is Ashland resident Ed Burman, who graduated from the high school. He is currently the acting police chief in the Town of Wayland, having served in both the Framingham and Ashland Police departments.

Framingham resident AJ Mulvey is the clerk of the School Committee. His term ends on June 30, 2023.

Other Framingham residents on the Committee are:

Brandon Ward of District 2. His term ends in June 2024.

Linda Forbes of District 3. Her terms ends in June 2023.

Rick Gallagher of District 1. His term ends in June 2024.

James Cameau of District 7. His term ends in June 2023.

Maria Martinez of District 8. Her terms ends in June 2023.

The term of District 2 resident Michelle Burns ended on July 1, 2022.

That means there is an open seat to be filled on the Committee that typically meets on Monday nights.


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107