Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

In full transparency, the following press release was submitted to SOURCE media for publication.


[broadstreet zone=”61074″]

SALEM – Today, August 16, Kim Driscoll announced the endorsement of over 50 new leaders across the Commonwealth who are supporting her candidacy for Lieutenant Governor.

The list of endorsers include former Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts Tom O’Neill, former Congressman Bill Delahunt, labor unions such as Teamster Local 25 and Mass Retirees, legislators, mayors, county officials, city councilors, school committee members, and Democratic State Committee members from Worthington to Gloucester to New Bedford and everywhere in between.

Also on the list is former Framingham Mayor Yvonne Spicer and former Framingham City Council Chair Dennis Giombetti.

Last week, current Framingham City Council Chair Phil Ottaviani Jr. and his wife School Committee Clerk Valerie Ottaviani hosted a fundraiser at their house for Mayor Driscoll. Also in attendance was State Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis.

[broadstreet zone=”59947″]

This support builds key momentum as people continue to cast their ballots in real time and election day nears with under three weeks to go.

In total, Kim has now earned the support of over 300 leaders, following the endorsements of the North Atlantic States Regional Council of Carpenters and former Mayor Kim Janey in the past week alone. This support builds on the wide coalition of support Mayor Driscoll continues to earn across Massachusetts from her proven track record as Mayor of Salem for over 16 years.

To date, Mayor Driscoll’s public endorsers include current and former elected officials across Massachusetts, labor unions, national leaders such as Barbara Lee, and the Planned Parenthood Advocacy Fund of Massachusetts. These endorsements also follow Driscoll’s resounding endorsement at the Massachusetts Democratic Party Convention in Worcester this past June, where she secured over 41% of support in a crowded five-way race. 

[broadstreet zone=”70107″]

“With just a few weeks before the final ballots will be cast, I feel the energy on the ground and I know our message is resonating,” said Driscoll. “We are putting in the work to demonstrate to voters that I will be a Lieutenant Governor for all of Massachusetts – and I will put my experience to work on Beacon Hill for working people and continue to deliver results on the most pressing issues impacting our neighborhoods.” 

The list of endorsers include: 

Current and former federal, state and county officials

  • Thomas “Tom” P. O’Neill III – Former Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts
  • William “Bill” Delahunt – Former Congressman, 10th Congressional District
  • Jonathan “Jon” W. Blodgett – District Attorney, Essex County; Peabody
  • Christopher “Chris” Donelan – Sheriff, Franklin County; Greenfield
  • William P. O’Donnell – Register of Deeds, Norfolk County; Norwood
  • John Merrigan – Register of Probate; Franklin County; Greenfield


  • Mass Retirees (Retired State, County And Municipal Employees Association Of Massachusetts) 
  • Teamsters Local 25
  • Seafarers International Union
  • Boston Ward 15 Committee
  • Boston Ward 12 Committee

[broadstreet zone=”53820″]

Current and former state legislators 

  • John Keenan – State Senator; Quincy
  • Mark Cusack – State Representative; Braintree
  • Christopher “Chris” Markey – State Representative; Dartmouth
  • Alan Silvia – State Representative; Fall River
  • Dylan Fernandes – State Representative; Falmouth
  • Ann-Margaret Ferrante – State Representative; Gloucester
  • Peter Capano – State Representative; Lynn
  • William “Bill” Driscoll – State Representative; Milton
  • Denise Garlick – State Representative; Needham
  • Tackey Chan – State Representative; Quincy
  • Bruce Ayers – State Representative; Quincy
  • Michael “Mike” Day – State Representative; Stoneham
  • Michael Finn – State Representative; West Springfield
  • James Arciero – State Representative; Westford
  • James “Jamie” Murphy – State Representative; Weymouth
  • Mary Keefe – State Representative; Worcester
  • John Mahoney – State Representative; Worcester
  • Daniel Donahue – State Representative; Worcester
  • Jeffrey Sanchez – Former Chair of House, Ways, and Means Committee; Boston
  • Ellen Story – Former State Representative; Amherst
  • Stephen “Steve” Kulik – Former State Representative; Worthington

[broadstreet zone=”59984″]

Current and former municipal elected officials

  • Yvonne M. Spicer – Former Mayor; Framingham
  • Kendrys Vasquez – Former Mayor; Lawrence
  • Joe O’Brien – Former Mayor; Worcester
  • Rhonda Nyman – Hanover Select Board Member, Chair; Former State Representative; Hanover
  • Ian Abreu – At-Large City Councilor, President; New Bedford
  • Alicia Bowman – At-Large City Councilor; Newton
  • Damali Vidot – At-Large City Councilor; Chelsea
  • Enio Lopez – City Councilor; Chelsea
  • Joseph Pacheco – Board of Selectmen; Democratic Town Committee, Chair; Raynham
  • Kelly Garcia – School Committee Member, President; Chelsea
  • Stephen Ruggiero – Town Councilor; Winthrop
  • Dennis Giombetti – Former City Councilor, Chair; Framingham

Democratic Party leaders

  • Juan Jaramillo – Democratic State Committee Member, First Suffolk and Middlesex District; Revere
  • Kate Shore – Democratic State Committee Member, Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth District; Democratic Town Committee Member; Randolph
  • Kevin Coleman Joyce – Democratic State Committee Member, Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth District; Democratic Town Committee Member; Randolph
  • Tyler Carlton – Democratic State Committee Member, Second Essex District; Salem
  • Sara Seinberg – Democratic Town Committee Member, Chair; Leyden
  • Elizabeth Silver – Northampton Democratic City Committee Member, Political Director; Northampton

Learn more about Kim Driscoll and her campaign by visiting

[broadstreet zone=”59983″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.