Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59945″]

FRAMINGHAM – Current Framingham License Commission Chair Tiel Wadland is stepping down as chair and leaving the Commission. She is an original member of the Commission, which was formed in 2018, when Framingham became a City.

Mayor Charlie Sisitsky is nominating SIFOC Vice Chair Mary Kate Feeney to the 5-member Commission and nominating the current vice chair Stuart Pologe to another term on the Commission.

The Framingham Board of License Commissioners have the power to issue licenses for innholders or common victualler licenses. The Board of Licensing Commissioners may grant licenses relating to alcoholic beverages under General Laws chapter 138 and those licenses under General Laws chapter 140 which are not, by the provisions of said chapter, placed within the jurisdiction of another municipal officer or agency.

[broadstreet zone=”58892″]

The terms are for 3 years, once approved by the 11-member City Council. The City’s legislative branch has 30 days to approve or reject the nominees.

The mayor designates the chair and the vice chair of the Commission.

“To be eligible for the position of Commissioner, candidates are required to be residents of Framingham, registered voters, and able to pass a background check. No person while a member of the Board of License Commissioners shall have any financial interest, direct or indirect, in the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages in any form within the City of Framingham,” according to the Charter.

Other members of the 5-member Commission are original member Sara Porter, whose term expires 2024, and Laura Medrano and Marques Lipton, whose terms expire in 2023.

[broadstreet zone=”53820″]

[broadstreet zone=”59984″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.