Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

By Ashlyn Kelly


[broadstreet zone=”53230″]

NATICK – On Tuesday, March 29, voters in Natick elected Cathi Collins, Elise Gorseth, and Julie McDonough to the Natick School Committee for 3-year terms.

The other candidates for School Committee were Kathleen Flathers and Henry Haugland.

Collins, Haughland, and McDonough were incumbents running for reelection.

Of the 24,039 registered votes, 3,276, or 13.63%, voted in the election. 

[broadstreet zone=”54526″]

School Committee Chair McDonough topped the ticket in the 5-way race for 3 seats with 1921 votes or 23.89%.

School Committee Vice Chair Collins finished third with 1650 votes or 20.52%. 

Newcomer Gorseth finished second with 1704 votes or 21.19%.

Flathers finished fourth with 1482 votes or 18.43%. 

Current School Committee member Haugland finished fifth with 1265 votes or 15.73%. 

There were 18 write-in votes or 0.22%.

[broadstreet zone=”58893″]

Collins thanked the voters for reelecting her and said she is “excited” to continue to work to “address the needs of students after the last two years.”

She added, “I’ll miss the knowledge and background provided by Henry Haugland but I look forward to working with Elise Gorseth.” 

Gorseth said she is “honored” to have been elected to the school committee. 

“My campaign was focused on three key areas: the need to rebuild our learning communities after two years of COVID disruptions, community engagement, and refining our approach to long-range strategic planning,” she said. “I am ready to get started and look forward to collaborating with my fellow Committee members.”


Ashlyn Kelly is a Spring 2022 SOURCE intern. She is a is a senior communication arts major with minors in political science and journalism at Framingham State University. When she is not writing an article, you can usually find her in a theatre.

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.