Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59983″]

FRAMINGHAM – District 6 City Councilor Phil Ottaviani Jr. was elected chair of the Framingham City Council for the next two years.

The vote was 9-1-1, with District 2 City Councilor Cesar-Stewart Morales voting against Ottaviani.

District 9 City Councilor Tracey Bryant nominated Ottaviani, who was elected to his second term in November.

At-large City Councilor Janet Leombruno was elected vice chair in a 6-5 vote.

She becomes the first woman to hold a leadership role in the City Council.

Leombruno defeated District 1 City Councilor Christine Long in a split vote.

Former chair George King Jr. had announced in Spring 2020 he would not seek to run for chair again.

Former vice chair Adam Steiner, who won a special election on January 11 to keep his seat, was nominated for chair, by Christine Long, but declined the nomination.

Mayor Charlie Sisitsky attended the City Council meeting and administered the oath of office to both Ottaviani and Leombruno.

Voting for Leombruno was herself, Ottaviani, King, District 4 City Councilor Michael Cannon, District 5 City Councilor Noval Alexander, and District 8 City Councilor John Stefanini.

Voting for Long was herself, Stewart-Morales, Steiner, District 7 City Councilor Leora Mallach, and Bryant.

[broadstreet zone=”59945″]

[broadstreet zone=”53130″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.