Mayor Spicer Opts Not To Re-Appoint Retired Detective To Framingham Police Advisory Committee

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

FRAMINGHAM – Mayor Yvonne Spicer has decided not to re-appoint retired Framingham Police Detective Larry Hendry to the Framingham Police Advisory Committee.

Hendry, who had served on the Committee since its first-ever meeting in October 2018, was up for re-appointment this year. A long-time Town Meeting member, he resides in District 6.

Hendry retired from the Framingham Police Department in 2016, after 37 years. When he retired he was Department’s cybercrime and computer forensics expert.

The Framingham Police Advisory Committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Police Department by bringing to their attention to feedback from the community concerning public safety issues.

The 3-member Committee held its first meeting on October 11, 2018. The Committee later expanded to 5 members and is a now a 7-member Committee.

Appointment to the Police Advisory Committee by the Mayor are subject to approval of the City’s Legislative branch of government, the City Council. A simple majority of the 11-member City Council is needed for approval. The Council is expected to vote on the nomination at its July meeting.

The Mayor nominated two individuals for the Framingham Police Advisory Committee in her June 22 memo to the City Council.

Spicer re-nominated District 4 resident Shawn Granoff to the Committee. Granoff is the current clerk, and has served on the Committee since 2019. She holds a Bachelors degree in Criminal Justice and a MSW in Social Work, with an emphasis on community organizing.

Spicer nominated Dwayne Stanley to the Committee to replace Hendry.

“Dwayne Stanley of District 4 holds a Masters degree in Business Administration and has experience in the biotech industry, serving as a Mechanical Engineer,” wrote Spicer to the City Council.

Stanley, however, lives in District 3. His residence is on Belknap Road.

The Council has 30 days to reject or approve the nominations. If no action is taken, the two individuals would automatically be approved for a term through June 30 2024.

The chair of the Police Advisory Committee is Nicole Doak, District 7, who term expires in June 2023.

Other members of the Committee include:

  • Susan Santone, District 2, who term expires in June 2022
  • Jonathan Maul, District 5, whose term expires in June 2022
  • Peter Pleshaw, District 6, whose term expires in June 2022
  • Carlos Wilder, who is the vice chair. The District 7 resident’s term expires in June 2023


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107