Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”53820″]

FRAMINGHAM – Mayor Yvonne Spicer is sticking with the status quo when it comes to the Framingham Zoning Board of Appeals. She re-nominated three individuals to the quasi-judicial board, including voting member and chair Steven Meltzer.

The Zoning Board interprets the Framingham Zoning Bylaw in appeals of denied building permits or other determinations of the Building Commissioner and hear petitions for Special Permits and Variances subject to the requirements of Mass. General Laws Chapter 40A.

The ZBA is comprised of seven total seats including three voting members and four associate members. Under the City bylaw, three associate members of the ZBA serve as the “Sign Review Board.”

Spicer re-nominated Meltzer of District 6 for another 3-year term which would end on June 30, 2024.

Meltzer, who holds a Juris Doctor from New England School of Law, has served on the Zoning Board of Appeals for the past 15 years and has experience in zoning laws, permitting, land use and real estate. he is the current chair and one of three voting members of the ZBA.

Spicer also re-nominated Lap Yan, Leonard Levy and Mitchell Matorin as Associate members of the ZBA.

[broadstreet zone=”59948″]

District 3 resident Yan “has over 30 years of experience in construction and design. He holds a Masters of Business Administration, Finance and Marketing from New York University, and B.A. of Architecture from New York Institute of Technology. Mr. Yan has served as an Associate member since 2019. Lap Yan is nominated for reappointment to the Zoning Board of Appeals as Associate and member of the Sign Review Board, effective through June 30, 2022<‘ wrote the Mayor to the City Council.

“Matorin of District 8 is a practicing attorney with 27 years of government and private practice. His legal training and experience in understanding and applying complex laws while balancing various interests will be an asset to the Zoning Board of Appeals. Matorin has served as an Associate member since 2020. Mitchell Matorin is nominated for reappointment to the Zoning Board of Appeals as Associate and member of the Sign Review Board, effective through June 30, 2022,” wrote Mayor Spicer to the City Council.

[broadstreet zone=”59947″]

Appointment to the ZBA by the mayor are subject to approval of the City’s Legislative branch of government, the City Council. A simple majority ofthe 11-member City Council is needed for approval.

The other voting members of the Framingham ZBA are Ted Cosgrove of District 6, who term ends June 30, 2022, and Heather O’Donnell, of District 7, whose term ends June 30,2023.

ZBA associate members Jeffrey Johnson and Rick McKenna have terms that ends on June 30, 2021. Neither re-applied to be on the ZBA.

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.