Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

On Thursday, May 2, 2024 the Framingham Cultural Council (FCC) held their annual Awards Reception in the Costin Room of the main Framingham Library at 6:30 p.m. The library director, Dawn Dellasanta, introduced the host for the event Timothy Alexander a member of the FCC.

Scholarship awards were given to Framingham High School seniors Anna Adams and Brenna McCarthy and to Keefe Technical High School senior Mark Connor Bingham. The scholarships are given in memory of Rita and Bill Collins to students continuing their education in the arts. The awards were presented by Maureen Valentine, daughter of Rita and Bill Collins who were past supporters of the Cultural Council.

The FCC 2024 Contributor of the year award was given to both Anna Tucker and Patrick St. Pierre for their work as co-curators of the current Framingham History Center’s Exhibit Framingham’s Collective Journeys: Stories of Immigration, 1960 – Present. Special Recognition awards were given to Dr. Montano, educator, and to Bill Rabkin, video volunteer. Dr. Montano was recognized for contributing to integration of immigrants into the Framingham community through education. Bill Rabkin was recognized for his willingness and dedication to creating videos for the Framingham library and other organizations.

Representatives Kate Donahue and Jack Lewis as well as Susan Nichols, representing Senator Karen Spilka, presented citations to these awardees.

This year the Framingham Cultural Council awarded 47 individuals or organizations grants totaling $49,700. The grants support activities such as: concerts, performances, projects, workshops, reading programs, or field trips. The funds for the grants came from the Massachusetts Cultural Council and from community donations. A number of the grantees gave a short description of their grant programs. A list of the 2024 grantees can be found at Framingham – Mass Cultural Council

The attendees were entertained by scholarship winner and vocalist Anna Adams, Kevin Driscoll, ventriloquist; Performing Arts Center student guitarists Luke and Bryce Atchison; and members of the local choral group Voices of MetroWest.

It was a festive evening that celebrated the culture and diversity of the Framingham community.

Council members are Mauricio Perea (Chair), Rick Gelfand (Vice chair), Joel Winett (Treasurer), Anita Danker (Clerk), Timothy Alexander, Julie Sullivan Green, Nathaniel Joslin, Lois Levick, Kathy Mello, Kerry Najarian, and Eric Volkin.

Anna Tucker, Bill Rabkin, Patrick St. Pierre, Susan Nichols, Kate Donahue, Jack Lewis

Cultural Council Members present: Rick Gelfand (Vice chair), Kerry Najarian, Anita Danker (Clerk), Timothy Alexander, Lois Levick, Kathleen Mello, Joel Winett (Treasurer), Julie Sullivan Green, and Eric Volkin.

You can read more about the Framingham Cultural Council here