Keefe Tech Junior Morales Receives Leadership in Diversity Award at 30th John P. Garrahan Event

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

Editor’s Note: SOURCE plans to publish profiles on all 8 recipients in 2022.


FRAMINGHAM – Keefe Technical High School junior Yaidymar Morales was one of eight students, who were honored at the 30th Annual John P. Garrahan MetroWest Leadership in Diversity Awards ceremony on April 28 at the Framingham Elks.

The event is organized by the Alliance For MetroWest Unity for the last 3 decades. The goal of the group is to bring together all groups within the MetroWest region to celebrate diversity and to increase understanding of the community in which we all live.

Morales, from Framingham, is enrolled in Keefe’s dental assisting program, and is described as a “true asset” to her school community, said the Committee.

She exhibits excellence in academics and leadership, has an honorable and admirable character, and
demonstrates a commitment to service. Morales actively plans service opportunities through Keefe’s National Honors Society chapter.

Promoting unity in her school community, she dedicates many hours after school as an English tutor. Her proficiency in Spanish and her cultural experiences have benefitted Spanish-speaking patients throughout her dental assisting rotations.

Morales exhibits outstanding leadership skills in her role as a Student Ambassador at Keefe Tech.  She
represented the school during its Showcase Days and Career Night, providing impressive presentations which were bparticularly helpful to students and families with language needs.

In the 2021, Morales participated in the 2021 Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Seminar (“HOBY”), a state, national, and international organization that selects sophomore leaders and gives them leadership training to become positive catalysts for change. Through the seminar, she had the opportunity to develop individual, group, and societal leadership skills which she continues to promote throughout the school community.

More recently, Morales joined the SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions) chapter at Keefe Tech and works to empower the school community to make healthy decisions and promote positivity.

“She has continuously demonstrated leadership skills, and has taken numerous opportunities to promote inclusiveness not only at Keefe Tech, but also in the wider community. She hopes to continue to help all students, no matter their differences, in becoming successful members of society. Well done, Yaidymar,” wrote the Committee.

Members of the Committee include Katherine Garrahan, Robert Anspach, Peter Chisholm, Andrew Miller, Howard L. Newell, Heather Connolly, Najee Nunnally, Judge David W. Cunis, Daniel B. Daley, Framingham Deputy Police Chief Sean D. Riley, Betsy Soule, Shayna Eddy, Framingham Assistant Superintendent Tiffany Lillie, Rev. Dr. J. Anthony Lloyd, Loretta Tenenholtz, Susan Masionis, and Annmarie Garrahan Wazer.


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107