Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59945″]

FRAMINGHAM – The Framingham City Council voted to appoint 4 individuals out of 14 applicants to the newly-created Framingham Community Preservation Committee.

The four individuals, who received the most votes, were, former District Councilor Judith Grove, former Planning Board chair Thomas Mahoney, Eastleigh Farm owner Doug Stephan, and District 6 resident Liz Kaprielian, who has been active with the Rotary Club and Access Framingham.

The 9-member Committee also includes individuals appointed from several already established boards & committees.

  • Planning Board member Joseph Norton
  • Housing Authority Commissioner Janice Rogers
  • Parks and Recreation Commission Shannon Stevens
  • Historical Commission member Fred Wallace
  • Conservation Commission member T.J. Liveston

[broadstreet zone=”59984″]

“We had great applicants,” said District 7 City Councilor Phil Ottaviani, who chairs the Council’s Appointments subcommittee. “It was an impressive group.”

In November 2020, Framingham voters approved the Community Preservation Act, which adds a 1% surcharge to property taxes to raise money to pay for open space, historic preservation, recreation and community housing development projects.

[broadstreet zone=”59982″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.