Senators Warren & Markey Urge Biden Administration To Fully Fund Hurricane Relief in Puerto Rico

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

In full transparency, the following is a media release from Sen. Ed Markey, who was elected by voters in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to serve the state in Washington DC in the US Senate. He is a Democrat. (stock photo of hurricane hitting Florida)


WASHINGTON DC – Senator Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) this week joined his colleagues led by Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) in sending a letter to President Biden asking to waive any local cost-share for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) aid to Puerto Rico. 

On September 18, 2022, Hurricane Fiona made landfall in Puerto Rico, cutting off power to the entire island and leaving many areas under water. That same day, President Biden approved an emergency declaration to authorize the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and FEMA to work in coordination on disaster relief efforts. Public Assistance grants issued by FEMA come with a requirement that states and territories shoulder a share of the cost of recovery.  While these cost-share requirements can be adjusted to lighten the state or territory’s burden, this has not yet been done for Puerto Rico. 

“In light of the continued concerning news about the devastation the hurricane has wrought on the island, which has prompted Puerto Rico Governor Pedro Pierluisi to announce his request for a Major Disaster Declaration for all of Puerto Rico’s municipalities, as well as the ongoing economic challenges faced by the island, we write to urge you to waive the local cost-sharing requirements by setting the federal cost-share at 100% for Public Assistance grants issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to Puerto Rico,” wrote the lawmakers.

Joining Senator Markey in signing the letter led by Senator Warren are Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), and Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)

To read the Text of letter click here.


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107