Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59982″]

FRAMINGHAM – City of Framingham Mayor Charlie Sisitsky has nominated three Southside residents to the 5-member Framingham Planning Board.

Under the last administration, three of the five Planning Board members came from District 1, with its chair from District 7.

Last week, Mayor Charlie Sisitsky, re-appointed Chair Kristina Johnson (District 7) and nominated Mitchell Matorin from District 8 and Jeffrey Johnson from District 9.

The 5-member Framingham Planning Board is responsible for guiding growth and development in the community.

The Board was elected when Framingham was a Town and is appointed by the Mayor, now that Framingham is a City.

Individuals nominated must be confirmed by the City’s legislative branch of government (City Council) within 30 days. If no action is taken, the nominations become effective.

Other members of the Framingham Planning Board are Vice Chair Joseph Norton (District 1) and Thomas Buie (District 4). Norton’s term expires in 2024. Buie in 2023.

Johnson, Matorin, and Johnson, if approved will have a term through June 30, 2023.

Matorin, an attorney, has been serving on the Framingham Zoning Board of Appeals as an associate member.

[broadstreet zone=”59945″]

In accordance with M.G.L c. 41, the Planning Board shall be responsible for, but not limited to:

  • Preparation, adoption, amendments, and the implementation of a Master Plan for the City of Framingham under M.G.L. c. 41, Section 81D.
  • Preparation of an official Zoning Map under M.G.L c. 41, Section 81E
  • Draft and submittal of zoning amendments for consideration by the City Council (M.G.L. c. 40A, Section 5).
  • Adoption, administration, and amendments of the Rules and Regulations Governing the Subdivision of Land in Framingham (M.G.L c. 41, Section 81K).
  • Special Permit Granting Authority, when applicable.

[broadstreet zone=”59948″]

  • Site Plan Review approval, when applicable.
  • Administer Public Way Access Ordinance, when applicable.
  • Recommend the designation of scenic roads and hold public hearings on requests regarding the Scenic Roads Act.
  • Acts as an adviser on other municipal land use regulations.
  • Land use and development reviewing and planning body.

Planning Board members are responsible to:

  • Review Site Plan Review, Special Permit, Approval Not Required (ANR), Preliminary Subdivision, Definitive Subdivision, Scenic Roadway Modification, Public Way Access Permit applications that have been submitted for review by a landowner or developer
  • Maintain, review, update the Master Land Use Plan, Subdivision Rules and Regulations, and Zoning By-Laws, in addition to other land-use plans
  • Develop planning studies related to land use, transportation, housing, and economic development
  • Work as a team to meet the goals of a Plan-Build-Grow Model of Development

[broadstreet zone=”53820″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.