Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”53230″]

FRAMINGHAM – The Framingham High School Drama Company advanced to the regionals in the Massachusetts Educational Theatre Guild’s Drama Festival earlier this month.

Framingham High will perform in the regionals at Framingham High School on Saturday, April 2 at 2:30 p.m. The public can attend all the performances that day.

On Friday night, the Drama Company will stage a benefit performance of the show Flora & Ulysses at the high school at 6 p.m. Tickets are still available at Tickets are $12.

The show is about a 10-year old girls named Flora and a squirrel she names Ulysses, after a vacuum cleaner.

“Can a little squirrel change the human heart? After getting sucked up by a vacuum cleaner, a (now hairless) squirrel is rescued by Flora Belle Buckman, a 10-year-old self-proclaimed cynic. She names him Ulysses and discovers he has been reborn a superhero. Indeed, this once average squirrel can suddenly understand Flora, fly, and even write poetry. Together they embark on an adventure full of quirky characters and bursting with heart.”

[broadstreet zone=”54526″]

Framingham High last won the state’s drama festival in 2016. This year, due to the coronavirus pandemic, there is no finals, only regionals.

The Cast

Flora, a ten-year-old girl : Lemon Tobar-Fawley

Tootie Tickham, her neighbor: Nyosha Homicil 

Ulysses, a squirrel: Kiyan Weiss

Phyllis Buckman, Flora’s mother: Haley Hein

George Buckman, Flora’s father: Diego Castrillo-Vilches

William Spiver an eleven-year-old boy: Max Lee

Dr. Meescham, an elderly woman: Cassandra Till 

Rita, the waitress at Do-Nut World: Ailadis Hernandez 

Ernie, the cook at Do-Nut World: Tyler Garofalo

Mr. Klaus, a cat: Hadley Connor 

[broadstreet zone=”58893″]


Emily Grace Spalding (Flora/ Tootie/ Rita)

Olivia Palmer (Phyllis/ Dr. Meescham/ Mr. Klaus)

Casey Corcoran (George/Ernie) 

Lucas Poole (William/ Ulysses)

Production Team

Directors/Producers: Ms. Donna Wresinski and Mr. Chris Brindley

Assistant Director: Ms. Stephanie Henry

Technical Director: Mr. Peter Birren

Music Composition: Ms. Michelle Smith

Scenic Design: Mr. Nick Oberstein

Costume Construction/Advisor: Mr. Brian Simons

Projection Designer: Mr. Kyle Stamm

Stage Managers: Katrina Barrett and Jenna Saxon  

Assistant Stage Managers: Timmy Beverly and Meghan McCluskey

Assistant Director: Sarah Spalti

Scenic Crew Head: Madison Chan

Scenic Painter: Dominique De Avila

Scenic Construction Crew: Esther Abe, Emma Aka, Bella Andersen, Isabella Alvarez, Andrew Austrager, Emma Beckman, Alina Chaparian, Anthony Covino, Anna Dervishian, Fiona Donoghue, Simone Hippolyte, Addison Jones, Tessa Krejdovsky, Melanie Linares, Gabriela Mills, Clara Noggle, Dexter Noggle, Matthew Schneider, Alyssa Mackay, Carly Nestor, Ella Richer, Mari Robles, Leah Salloway

Lighting Crew Chairs: Domenic Scalzi and Emma Mackay

Lighting Crew: Jose Fernando Rios, Janie Harris, Evan Hein, Elwyn Jacobs, Amelia Klippenstein, Katie Martinez, Kimberly Martinez, Michael Paiz, Cali Robles, Tessa Varley, Julia Wilkinson 

Sound Crew Chair: Cameron Norris

Sound Crew: Katie Najarian

Costume/ Make-Up and Hair Chairs: 

Natalie Carson, Christina Mula, Rachel Varley

Costume Crew: Cora Allen, Aarohi Bhatt, Annabel Francis, Maya Gonzalez-Griffin, Alahna Hogues, Addison Johnson, Aubrey Klippenstein, Sophie Macklin, DeLiecia Quigley, Laura Rubio, Isabella Salvatierra Martinez, Mary Sullivan, Elizabeth St. Louis

Props Designer: Lucy Wood

Props Crew: Achilles Hicks, Emma Jane Lickly, Viv Lee

Ushers/Hosts: Anna Adams, William Carrasco, Brady Coppinger, Tai Edmond, Izzy Eeson, Nico Harutunian, Kaltrina Jashari, Gaina Jean Pierre, Isabella Medina, Jaysa Rosa, Kacey Tah, Amelia Williams

[broadstreet zone=”58610″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.