Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

FRAMINGHAM – At the 3rd Annual Flyers Hall of Fame induction ceremony Saturday night, November 6, the Framingham High School Hall of Fame Foundation announced it is expanding to two induction ceremonies annually.

The 50c13 organization was founded in 2018, as a way to offset the loss of revenue when the athletic fees were eliminated for all students, making sports accessible to all in the City of Framingham.

In 2018, the first Flyers Hall of Fame, an athletic hall of fame for Framingham High, Framingham North, or Framingham South students and coaches was held with proceeds benefiting Framingham High athletics.

In fall 2021, the Foundation Board voted to expand its mission to support fine & performing arts, as well as other recognized clubs & extracurricular activities at the high school. 

And last night, the Foundation announced it will hold its first-ever Framingham High Alumni Hall of Fame ceremony in 2022.

[broadstreet zone=”53230″]

With the expansion, the mission of the Framingham High Hall of Fame Foundation will be to support & financially supplement the Framingham High Athletic Department, the Framingham High Fine & Performing Arts Department, and all other recognized clubs & extracurricular activities at Framingham High School.

The new alumni hall of fame will highlight graduates of the Framingham high schools, who made a significant impact at the high school or made an impact due to their education in Framingham in our community or in the world.

Inductees to the new alumni hall of fame could be performers, entrepreneurs, scientists, business executives, public servants, artists, educators, etc.

[broadstreet zone=”54526″]

The Foundation is seeking new Board members and new committee members due to the expansion. Individuals are needed to help organize both the 2022 alumni event in the spring and the 4th annual Flyers Athletic Hall of Fame in the Fall of 2022. 

The Foundation will be accepting nominations for both induction ceremonies in 2022. Forms will be available in January.

Last night, the Flyers (athletic) Hall of Fame inducted Bill Brooks, Todd Hill, Geovanni Lopez, PJ Rovinelli, and the undefeated state champion 2006 girls lacrosse coaches, captains, and players.

In the inaugural Flyers Hall of Fame in 2018 inducted was Blake Bellefeuille, Tanner Guarino, Kristin Igoe, Peter Taglianetti, and the late George Wheeler.

[broadstreet zone=”59947″]

In 2019, inducted were Dr. Melanie Baskind, Richard Carter, Abbey Capobianco, Arnold Garron, Lou Merloni, and Brad Newman.

No one was inducted in 2020, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Members of Framingham High Hall of Fame Foundation include Board President Jim Kelly, Vice President Noval Alexander, Clerk Heather Connolly, Treasurer Jacqui Goldberg, Technology Officer Susan Petroni, and Board members Scott Wadland, Marion Kelly, and Ricky Finlay.

[broadstreet zone=”59945″]


Editor’s Note: In full transparency, the editor/publisher of SOURCE is on the Foundation board.

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.