Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59946″]

FRAMINGHAM – Noval Alexander won the District 5 City Council seat on Tuesday, November 2.

This was Alexander’s second try for the 2-year seat on the Council. He had lost to District 5 City Councilor Robert Case in 2019.

Case chose not to seek re-election in 2021, so the seat was open.

The District 5 City Council seat was a battle between two former School Committee members Alexander and Cheryl Gordon, who had campaigned twice before for the City Council seat but lost in 2017 and 2019, and now 2021.

Alexander, a middle school teacher’s aide and a Veteran, won yesterday with 628 votes, according to the unofficial results from the City Clerk’s office. Gordon received 509 votes.

“I want to thank the people in District 5 for entrusting me with your vote,” said Alexander to SOURCE. ” I also want to extend a heartfelt thank you to Cheryl Gordon for running a good and hard fought campaign.”

[broadstreet zone=”59948″]

Alexander won both Precincts 8 (412 to 351 votes) and Precinct 12, where he lives, (216 to 158 votes), according to the unofficial results.

Gordon was endorsed by Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis, who was actively campaigning for Gordon on election day.

“Now it’s time to roll up our sleeves and get to work on making Framingham a better place for everyone and back on the road to reclaiming our position as the beacon of the MetroWest region,” said Alexander.

Alexander is the fourth BIPOC individual to be elected to the Framingham City Council, since the City of Framingham became a City in 2017.

The first was Edgardo Torres in 2017 as the District 9 Councilor.

The second and third were Cesar Stewart-Morales and Tracey Bryant in 2019. Both were re-elected in 2021.

Alexander will be sworn in on January 1, 2022.

[broadstreet zone=”59982″]


[broadstreet zone=”59947″]

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.