Joslin Nominated To Framingham Cultural Council

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

FRAMINGHAM – District 4 resident Nathaniel Joslin has been nominated to the Framingham Cultural Council by Mayor Yvonne Spicer.

The Framingham Cultural Council awards grants to private and public/municipal organizations, and individuals for cultural projects that benefit Framingham residents. The Council is responsible for making the final decisions on how to best serve the cultural needs of Framingham in selecting grant recipients and the amount of each grant.

The nomination was made on July 13, and the City Council, the legislative branch of government, has 30 days to approve or reject.

If no action is taken, the appointment is automatic for 3 years through June 30, 2024.

“I served on the board at atac for several years and I am still involved there on the committee level. I have served as a volunteer at atac. I have lived both downtown and in the north and right on rt 9. I feel I have experienced much of Framingham and I am passionate about seeing Framingham continue to improve. The experience and expertise that I really bring to such a roll is that of passionate citizen. I moved to Framingham in 2012 and it very quickly became my home. I have served on the boards of local Framingham non profits. I have worked in our community service agencies such as Wayside and Advocates. I chose to buy a home here looking at no other town. I attended Framingham State and currently work at the Learning Center for the Deaf,” wrote Joslin, in his application. “In addition to a passion for my city I have passion for art. Painting, performance, photography anything that is expressive and creative. Having strong art and attracting and supporting local artist creates culture in our city and makes it the place I want to live.”

Joslin speaks sign lanaguage, he wrote in his application to the Mayor.

The Framingham Cultural Council has 11 members.

Its chair Joel Winett recently left the Council, due to a state rule. The Mass Cultural Council (MCC) rules are that a person can serve only for 6 consecutive years. Winett finished his 12 years on June 30, 2021. He served 5 years as chair, 6 years as clerk, and 1 year as treasurer of the Council. The Council recently created a new award and made Winett its first recipient.

District 3 resident Chris Roppola is vice chair and will serve as chair of the Council until new elections in August.

Other members of the Council are District 3 resident Everton Da Costa, District 3 resident Vicki Hammel, District 8 resident Leslie Harvey, District 1 resident Charles Kiefer, District 1 resident Vanessa Pendexter, District 2 resident Mauricio Perea, District 1 resident Cindy walsh, District 1 resident Lois Levick, and District 6 resident Stephanie Jean Noel.


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107