Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”59982″]

FRAMINGHAM – Mayor Spicer is re-nominating three individuals to the Framingham Historic District Commission, according to a June 4 memo to the City Council.

It is unclear if current chair Stephen Greeley has re-applied for the Commission, or if the Mayor is not re-nominating him at this time. His term ends on June 30, 2021, but he can continue to serve until is position is filled.

The Framingham Historic District Commission preserves the character of designated historic districts in Framingham through a review/advisory process. Members have skill sets in architecture, historic preservation, construction, law and landscape architecture and/or are residents of historic districts.

[broadstreet zone=”59984″]

District 1 Edward Grenham, who has has served on the Historic District Commission for more than 10 years, was re-nominated.

“He is a member National Trust for Historic Preservation and the Trustees of Reservations, who are stewards of numerous historic properties,” wrote Mayor Spicer to the City Council.

“Henry Field of District 3 has served on the Historic District Commission for 20 years as the lawyer-member,” wrote the Mayor in re-nominating him.

“Amy Finstein of District 5 is a professor of Architectural History at College of the Holy Cross, specializing in 19th and 20th century American architecture. She serves on the board of the New England chapter of the Society of Architectural Historiansm” wrote Spicer about her re-nomination.

The nominations were made on June 4, and the 11-member City Council has 30 days to approve or reject the nominations. If no action is taken by the City’s legislative branch, the appointments are automatic. Both appointments are for 3-years through June 30, 2024.

[broadstreet zone=”59983″]

Other members of the Commission are

District 3 resident Kenneth Nowell through June 2023

District 3 resident Sue Bernstein through June 2023

District 3 resident Stephen Greeley through June 2021

District 3 resident Andrew Mackin through June 2022

District 3 resident Paul Charboneau through June 2022

District 3 resident Paul Silva through June 2022

District 5 resident Katherine Michalski through June 2022

District 6 resident James Kubat through June 2022

District 6 resident Julie Ferrari through June 2023

There are no residents from Districts 7-8-9 on the Commission, but 7 individuals from District 3.

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.