Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”58610″]

FRAMINGHAM – Mayor Yvonne Spicer has nominated to women to the Framingham Human Relations Commission.

“The purpose of the Commission shall be to deal with the causes of intergroup disunity, including the elimination of bias, discrimination, and prejudice against minority groups, and to establish affirmative action programs to ensure equal protection of law for all groups regardless
of race, color, religious creed, sex, age, disability, sexual orientation, or any other protected class recognized under state or federal law.”

Mayor Spicer re-nominated District 3 reisdent Renee Harper and nominated District 8 resident Sarah Wiemert.

Framingham 20-year resident Harper “brings to the board skills and experience in human resources, diversity and inclusion, finances, auditing, and management and operations,” wrote the Mayor to the City Council.

Harper has served on the Commission for 5-years, including co-chair this year, according to her application.

[broadstreet zone=”59946″]

Wiemert “has knowledge and experience working on challenges related to food systems and their interconnection to poverty, health care, housing, and more,” wrote the Mayor.

“I am a new Framingham resident and am eager to be involved in a meaningful way with my new community,” wrote the applicant.

The nominations were made on June 4, and the 11-member City Council has 30 days to approve or reject the nominations. If no action is taken by the City’s legislative branch, the appointments are automatic. Both appointments are for 3-years through June 30, 2024.

Other members of the Commission, all appointed by Spicer include:

District 2 resident Michael Genovese whose term ends in June 2021

[broadstreet zone=”59983″]

District 3 resident Erica Mash whose term ends in June 2022

District 3 resident Jose Ivan Roman who terms ends in June 2021

District 4 resident and City of Framingham employee Renan Pinheiro whose terms ends in June 2023

District 4 resident Nayagara Viera whose terms ends in June 2023

District 5 resident Constance Warner whose terms ends in June 2022

District 6 resident Dana Essigmann whose terms ends in June 2023

District 6 resident Eleanor Anbinder whose term ends in June 2021

District 7 resident Robert Anspach whose terms ends in June 2023

District 7 resident Timothy Lee whose terms ends in June 2023

District 8 resident Bianca Blackman whose terms ends in June 2022

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.