Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”53230″]

FRAMINGHAM – For the 7th year in a row, the Christa McAuliffe Parent teacher Group (PTG) voted to fund a $500 scholarship for a McAuliffe
scholar who is graduating and is planning to pursue education beyond high school.

This year, the scholarship committee has chosen McAuliffe Alumni Abby Burgess, who attends the Beaver Country Day School to receive the award. Burgess will be studying at Dartmouth College this fall hoping to major in Native American Studies and Environmental Science. We are excited to continue to follow her journey.

Annually, the McAuliffe Scholarship committee asks applicants to draw on their experience at McAuliffe and explain how this contributed to their high school experience or plans for the future. Her application essay along with her academic performance, extracurricular involvement, and community service showcased just how much of an impressive young lady she is, said the school.

[broadstreet zone=”54526″]

Burgess plays a leadership role at Jeff’s Place, helping other teens grieve their personal losses. She is the president of her school’s environmental club, and she is one of the organizers and founders of the inaugural TEDx program at Beaver.

Executive Frank Tipton remarked that “Abby demonstrates the highest level of team-building and service to others. Her
efforts exemplify the values we teach at McAuliffe.”

“It is with great pleasure that the McAuliffe Alumni Scholarship committee is able to present Abby with this award, said Lauren Cunningham & Meghan Martin, McAuliffe Alumni Scholarship Committee chairs.

Her teachers describe her as ‘hard-working’, as a student who ‘demonstrates the highest level of inquiry’, as ‘a classroom leader’ and ‘quite simply, a terrific person’.

[broadstreet zone=”70107″]


Photo and press release submitted to SOURCE media

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.