Representatives Lewis and Robinson & Sen. Eldridge Sign #NoCopMoney Pledge

Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

FRAMINGHAM – Two MetroWest State Representatives and a State Senator have signed the #NoCopMoney pledge sponsored by the College Democrats of Massachusetts.

“For far too long, police in the United States have been allowed to perpetrate violence against the Black community with total impunity. As a nation, we have watched, horrified, as police officers beat, tear-gas, and shoot at Black Lives Matter protesters, often unprovoked. We’ve seen city governments, many led by Democrats, employ tactics designed to intimidate and suppress the outpouring of grief and rage against police brutality,” wrote the College Democrats of Massachusetts.

“The College Democrats of Massachusetts call on our elected officials to reject campaign contributions from police unions and donate the money they have already accepted to community organizations. We call upon Democratic elected officials to prove to their constituents that they place the interests of the people above elite, moneyed interests,” wrote the political organization.

Framingham State Rep. Maria Robinson and Ashland & Framingham State Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis have signed the pledge.

Sen.  Jamie Eldridge also signed the pledge. he is a Democrat from Acton, who represents Sudbury & Marlborough and about 10 other communities.

“The College Democrats of Massachusetts spend a great deal of time and effort electing progressives to office; it is clear that having Democratic elected officials in office means nothing unless they are held accountable for their role in enabling the police and the carceral state to inflict violence upon the Black community. By accepting campaign contributions from police unions, elected officials are bound to represent the police – not the people – thus enabling the violence and brutality that we have seen over the past week,” wrote the political organization.

Other elected leaders who have signed the pledge area:

  • Jo Comerford- State Senator for the Hampshire, Franklin, Worcester District
  • Becca Rausch- State Senator for the Norfolk, Bristol, and Middlesex District
  • Lindsay Sabadosa- State Representative for the 1st Hampshire District
  • Mike Connolly- State Representative for the 26th Middlesex District
  • Tami Gouveia- State Representative for the 14th Middlesex District
  • Jivan Sobrinho-Wheeler- Cambridge City Councilor

To sign the pledge, visit:


email: call or text at 508-315-7176

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/framin10/public_html/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107