Share, email, print, bookmark SOURCE reports.

[broadstreet zone=”80100″]

FRAMINGHAM – Mayor Yvonne Spicer has nominated a prosecutor to the Framingham Police Advisory Committee.

Created by the City Charter, the Police Advisory Committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Police Department by bringing to their attention feed-back from the community concerning public safety issues.

The Mayor nominated Carlos Wilder, who currently serves as a prosecutor for the Hampden County District Attorney’s Office to the Committee.

[broadstreet zone=”52820″]

His experience working in the criminal justice system will bring
valuable insight to the welfare of policing and programming in Framingham.

Wilder lived in the Hartford, Connecticut area prior to moving to Framingham. He lives in District 7.

During this time, he teamed with the Obama Foundation to develop a community project to raise awareness of youth homelessness, which included trainings and leadership coaching in both Hartford and Chicago.

His nomination is for a term through June 30, 2023.

[broadstreet zone=”70107″]

His appointment is subject to the Framingham City Council. The Council has 30 days to take action. The mayor submitted her selection on April 16.

The City Council’s appointmements subcommittee is chaired by District 6 City Councilor Phil Ottaviani.

The Framingham Police Advisory Committee originally was a 3-member committee. Originally members were Susan Santone, District 7 resident Nicole Doak, and retired Framingham Police detective Larry Hendry.

It is now a 7-member committee. District 2 resident Santone is the chair, and her term expires in June 2022. District 6 resident Hendry is the clerk, and his term expires in June 2021.

Doak’s term expires June 30, 2020.

[broadstreet zone=”59984″]

Former Town Meeting member and District 6 resident Peter Pleshaw’s term expires in June 2022. Shawn Granoff, who lives in District 4, has a term through June 2021. District 5 resident Jonathan Maul’s term expires in June 2022

By editor

Susan Petroni is the former editor for SOURCE. She is the founder of the former news site, which as of May 1, 2023, is now a self-publishing community bulletin board. The website no longer has a journalist but a webmaster.