2019 Election Guide For Voters in Framingham District 8 (Precincts 15 & 18)


FRAMINGHAM – One of the promises of the new City charter was that all parts of the City would be represented in City government.

Under the Town form of government, no members of the School Committee nor the Board of Selectmen lived south of Route 135. That changed with the City form of government in 2018.

District 8 is one of two districts that have contested races for both district City Council and district School Committee in 2019.

If you live in District 8, comprised of Precincts 15 & 18, you will vote for a district councilor, a School Committee member, and up to two city-wide councilors on Tuesday, November 5.

The polls will be open on Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at St. Tarcisius for voters in District 8. 

Framingham Public Schools is closed for students on Tuesday. Teachers and staff have a professional development day.

For City Council, voters in District 8 will choose between newly-appointed Traffic Commissioner Mario Alvarez and former State Representative and Selectman John Stefanini.

(Click on their names to read their responses to a series of questions asked by Framingham Source.) Alvarez did not return the SOURCE Q&A by the deadline.

Below are the voting records for the last 5 years for both Alvarez and Stefanini.

Voters have three names on the ballot for at-large City Council. Two will be elected to 4-year terms. on the ballot is Councilor George P. King. Jr., Housing Authority member Janet Leombruno, and School Committee member Gloria Pascual.

Below is the voting record for the last 5 years, for the three city-wide Council candidates.

Editor’s Note: King and Leombruno could NOT vote in September 2019, as their Precinct did not have an election.

District 8 School Committee member Pascual chose not to seek re-election to the 9-member School Committee.

Jessica Barnhill and Jim Hansen are running for the District 9 School Committee seat. It is a 2-year term.

District 8 includes Lake Waushakum and Route 135, and the Boston Marathon route. It is also home to the former Roosevelt Elementary and Memorial schools, as well as the Bethany Hill property. The district includes the Tripoli and Coburnville neighborhoods.

 (In full transparency, District 8 is my district, and I lived there for almost 20 years)

Voters will also see six names on the ballot for 6 library trustee seats.

There is one name on the ballot for cemetery trustee. There are two seats available. In October, John Feeney announced a write-in campaign for Framingham Cemetery Trustee.

Residents will NOT vote for Mayor in this election. The City’s second-ever mayoral election will be held in 2021.

Framingham Source published scores of opinion pieces by readers about the November 5 race. Click here to read the op-eds and letters to the editor.

Looking for a specific article about a candidate or a race? Use the search feature on Source.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply