VOTERS GUIDE 2019: Framingham To Elect 11 City Councilors on November 5

FRAMINGHAM – The entire 11-member Framingham City Council will be elected in November 2019.

Seven of the current City Council members have decided not to seek re-election.

City Council Chair Dennis Giombetti, at-large City Councilor Cheryl Tully Stoll, District 1 City Councilor Charlie Sisitsky, District 2 City Councilor Pam Richardson, District 6 City Councilor Mike Rossi, District 8 City Councilor Judy Grove, and District 9 City Councilor Edgardo Torres all chose not to run for a second term.

The entire 9-member Framingham School Committee is also on the ballot in November.

The Mayor is not up for re-election until November 2021.

Election today is Tuesday, November 5. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the 18 Precincts.

Voters will elect two City Councilors at -large, who will serve a 4-year term and a City Councilor for each of the City’s 9 Districts. Each Districts is comprised of 2 Precincts.

The districts are:

  • District 1 (Precincts 1 & 2)
  • District 2 ( 3 & 5)
  • District 3 (4 & 7)
  • District 4 (6 & 9)
  • District 5 ( 8 & 12)
  • District 6 (10 & 11)
  • District 7 (13 & 14)
  • District 8 (15 & 18)
  • District 9 (16 & 17)


There are three at-large candidates on the ballot. Voters will elect two to serve a 4-year term.

SOURCE sent a Q&A to all the Council candidates, all but two individuals returned it. One did not return it, and one returned it 3 days after the deadline. If the candidate returned it – the name is highlighted and you can click on it to read their answers.

The candidates are incumbent City Councilor  George P. King, Framingham Housing Authority member Janet Leombruno, and District 8 School Committee member Gloria Pascual.

Each of the district seats is for a 2-year term.

Two of the current City Councilors are running unopposed for re-election. They are District 4 City Councilor Michael Cannon and District 3 City Councilor Adam Steiner.

In District 6, Zoning Board of Appeals Chair Phil Ottaviani Jr. is running for the 2-year seat unopposed. He lost to current Councilor Rossi by less than two dozen votes in 2017.

Current District 7 City Councilor Margareth Shepard is being challenged for her seat by Bill Lynch.

Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals member Joseph Norton, and Planning Board chair Christine Long, are seeking the seat held by Sisitsky.

In District 2, School Committee member Rick Finlay and Cesar Stewart-Morales will be on the November ballot.

District 5 School Committee member Noval Alexander and Robert Case  are looking to take the seat held by current City Council Chair Giombetti.

In District 8, former Mayoral candidate, and former State Representative and Selectman John Stefanini and traffic commissioner Mario Alvarez will appear on the November ballot for the seat to be vacated by Grove.

And in District 9 School Committee member Tracey Bryant and Neidy L. Cuellar are looking to win the seat to be vacated by Torres.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply