UPDATED: Mayor Spicer To Give Keynote Address at Annual Meeting of Sudbury Valley Trustees

UPDATED: Report was updated at 9:45 a.m. on September 10. with more award winners.

FRAMINGHAM – Framingham Mayor Yvonne Spicer will give the keynote address at the annual meeting of the Sudbury Valley Trustees on September 19.

The meeting will be held at Historic Village Hall at 7:15 p.m. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Spicer’s keynote address is titled Land Conservation and Beyond: Improving Quality of Life and Environmental Health in Our Communities.

At the meeting, new officers will be elected. Proposed officers for 2019-2020 are:

President:  Andrew Magee, Acton

Vice President:  Karin Paquin, Marlborough

Treasurer:  Bruce Osterling, Sudbury

Clerk:  Peter Martin, Northborough

Assistant Treasurer:  Lisa Vernegaard, Maynard

Assistant Clerk:  Michael Cohen, Maynard

The Trustees plan to honor several area volunteers and public servants for their contributions to the protection of natural areas and wildlife habitats.

Marilyn “Maggie” Kelber of Framingham will posthumously receive the Morgan Volunteer Award.

Named for an Sudbury Valley Trustees founder, the Morgan Award is presented to a volunteer who has given unselfishly of his or her time and talents in support of SVT’s work.

Prior to her death this past summer, Kelber had been a long-time, dedicated office volunteer who provided much-needed administrative support for
countless projects. She also was an avid gardener who helped with plant labeling in the SVT gardens.

Additional awards will be presented to other area residents:

  • Chris Menge of Sudbury will receive the Steward of the Land Award for his dedicated service as a volunteer preserve steward on SVT properties, where he helps monitor the properties, blaze trails, and
    fight invasive plants.
  • Priscilla Ryder, Conservation Agent for the City of Marlborough, will receive the Distinguished Public Service Award for her 25-plus years of service in her current position plus her extensive work with
    OARS and SVT in cleaning up local rivers and restoring imperiled wildlife habitats.
  • William “Buzz” Constable of Lincoln will receive the Lewis Conservation Award for his tireless dedication to the conservation of land and water in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. A conservation attorney, Constable has served as president of the Lincoln Land Conservation Trust, an officer of The Trustees of Reservations, and chair of the Massachusetts Land Trust Coalition.

To RSVP for the annual meeting visit www.svtweb.org/AM2019.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply