FRAMINGHAM – An iconic Framingham restaurant will have a hearing with the Framingham License Commission to open an outdoor patio.
Ken’s Steak House has been at 95 Worcester Road since 1941.
The restaurant is requesting permission to have an outdoor patio, to serve food and drink, in front of the Framingham License Commission tonight, January 28.
The Framingham Zoning Board of Appeals approved a special permit for an outdoor patio, after a Town of Framingham building official denied an application in July 2014.
The special permit approved in 2014 allowed for a 20-seat patio.
However, Ken’s Steakhouse will need to re-apply for a permit, as the ZBA permit issued in 2014, was only good for two years.
Ken’s Steak House began in Natick in 1935 by Ken and Florence Hanna. They purchased the former McHale’s Diner property on Route 9 in 1941.
In 1945, right after World War II, Ken’s added a room behind the fireplace and enlarged the diner to 80 seats, now known as the Lamp Post Room.
The Hickory Room with 100 seats was added in 1957 and the lounge renovated.
In 1959, Cafe V opened. the Dining Room became famous for prime sirloin of beef, planked scrod and distinctive side dishes.
The salad dresses are known throughout America.