Framingham City Council Unanimously Approves Mayor’s Nominees to Historical Commission

FRAMINGHAM – The Framingham City Council unanimously approved the Mayor’s nominees for the Framingham Historical Commission, on Tuesday, August 21.

Town Meeting established the Commission with a vote in April 1969.

The Commission’s mission is to “work alongside the Massachusetts Historical Commission to promote preservation, protection, and development of the City’s historically and archaeologically important assets.”

The Mayor’s office said there were seven applicants for 7 seats on the Commission.

The Commissioners nominated are from Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6. Three of the seven are from District 1.

Mayor Yvonne Spicer nominated five current members.

She also nominated Lynne Damianos, who was hired by her inauguration committee to photograph the January 1 event. She received the only 3-year term.

Current member Lewis Colten, was re-nominated. He is also an elected Framingham Planning Board member.

Also re-nominated was City Historian Fred Wallace, the current chair. The Mayor picks the chairs of boards, committees, and commissions.


Approved by the City Council in an 11-0 vote were:

  • Current member Jane Whiting – District 1 for 1-year term
  • Current member Paul Silva – District 3 for a 1-year term
  • Current Chair Fred Wallace – District 1 for a 1-year term
  • Lynne Damianos – District 2 for a 3-year term
  • Susan Kennedy – District 4 for a 2-year team
  • Current member Lewis Colten – District 1 for a 2-year term
  • Current member Thomas Shuetz – District 6 for a 2-year term



Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply