Council Approves Mayor’s 7 Nominees to Framingham Historic District Commission

FRAMINGHAM – The Framingham City Council unanimously approved the Mayor’s seven nominees to the Framingham Historic District Commission on Tuesday night, August 21.

The Mayor nominated four current members and two current alternate members.

All of the nominees are from either District 3 or District 5. Framingham has 9 City districts.

The purpose of the Commission is to “preserves the character of designated historic districts in Framingham through a review/advisory process.”

The Commission is comprised of seven members, and five alternate members. The members serve 3-year terms and approve or reject external “changes that are viewable from a public way structures located in designated historic districts in Framingham.”

The list of nominees was updated from the original list the Mayor submitted on June 30.

Nominated in July and approved by the City Council on Tuesday in an 11-0 vote were:

  • Current Chair Steve Greeley, District 3 – term ends June 30, 2021 –
  • Current alternate member Amy Finstein, District 5 – term ends 2021
  • Current member Henry Fields, District 5 – term ends 2021
  • Current alternate member Kenneth Nowell, District 3 – term ends 2020
  • Current member Sue Bernstein, District 3 – term ends 2020
  • Current member Jim Kubat, District 5 – terms ends in 2019
  • Bob Anspach, District 5 – term ends in 2019

The members are supposed to be architects, district residents, realtor and one member appointed by the Framingham History Center.

The five alternate members shall represent  the following areas of expertise or interest: Architect; Attorney; District Resident; History Center; Realtor; Architectural Historian; Landscape Architect; Urban Planner; Licensed General Contractor or Building Tradesperson; or a person with a demonstrated commitment to Historic Preservation. At any given time, no more than one alternate may be appointed from any of 10 listed categories.

The mayor’s office did not indicate in its filing with the 11-member City Council, what each member’s designated status is (ie realtor, district resident, at-large member, architect, etc).






Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply