First City of Framingham School Committee Meeting Scheduled For January 3

FRAMINGHAM – The first City of Framingham School Committee meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 3.

In April, voters approved a move to a city form of government for Framingham.

That move changed the School Committee from 7-members elected town-wide, to nine School Committee members elected by district. The terms of the School Committee members also shrunk from a 3-year team as a town to a 2-year term as a city.

A 9-member School Committee was elected in November.

Three members of the Town School Committee were elected to the 9-member City of Framingham School Committee. They are Ricky Finlay, Beverly Hugo, and Scott Wadland. Current Chair Heather Connolly chose not to run for School Committee.

The meeting will be held at King Elementary School at 7 p.m.

The agenda includes

  1. Member introductions from 7 to 7:15 p.m.
  2. Re0rganization of the School Committee, to elect a new chair, vice chair and clerk from 7:15 to 7:45 p.m.
  3. A vote to create a temporary subcommittee on rules and administration from 7;45 to 8 p.m.
  4. And an appointment of authorized warrant signers from 8 to 8:25 p.m.

Members of the newly-elected School Committee will officially be sworn in on January 1 at Nevins Hall in the Memorial Building.

Elected were:

District 1: Beverly Hugo

District 2: Ricky Finlay

District 3: Scott Wadland

District 4: Adam Freudberg

District 5: Noval Alexander

District 6: Geoffrey Epstein

District 7: Tiffanie Maskell

District 8: Gloria Pascual

District 9: Tracey Bryant

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply