Press Release: 2018 Team Framingham

The following is a press release from Team Framingham 2018:

The random selection drawing to choose the 5 charities and 22 runners to be part of Team Framingham 2018 was held last evening, Monday December 4 at Town Hall.

The Team Framingham 2018 runners will participate in the April 16, 2018 Boston Marathon.

The following 5 charities were selected from a pool of 11 charities that applied:

  • Hoops and Homework
  • Adult ESL
  • Framingham High School Foundation
  • United Way of Tri-County
  • Resiliency for Life

78 Town of Framingham residents and town employees applied for one of the 22 invitational entries to run the upcoming Boston Marathon as a Team Framingham 2018 runner. Four applicants withdrew from the selection prior to last night’s drawing leaving 74 names in the hat for these coveted entries.

The 22 runners who will be representing the City of Framingham in the 2018 Boston Marathon are:

James Kivlehan
Caroline DiCicco
Mark Nickerson
Michael Pearson
Jeffrey Beling
Leslye Aube
Bree Cunningham
Deb Dauley
Michelle Gibson
Steve Elefson
Andrew Chester
Jonathan Chester
Andrew McDonnell
Teresa Burke
Elise Gately
Diana Linn
Megan Bubello
Priscila Sousa
Robert Connolly
Amber Price
Thomas Begin
Michael Dolan

There were also 12 names drawn to form an ordered “wait list”. In the event that one or more of the 22 team runners decide not to participate in the program, “wait list” runners will be added to the team in the following order:

1 Chris Bogardus
2 Amy Russo
3 Joe Kynoch
4 Carleigh-Ann Harvey
5 Beth Herrmann
6 Kathleen Hepp
7 Jillian Erwin
8 Kelly Barhoff
9 Michelle Schatz
10 Jennifer Graham
11 Brendan Manzella
12 Nikki Charifson

The Team Framingham Steering Committee wishes to acknowledge and thank the members of the Board of Selectmen for their vision, leadership and support in creating and updating the guiding principles for Team Framingham which since its inception in 2013 has raised close to $270,000 for charity and prepared 88
Framingham residents and town employees to run the Boston Marathon.

Thanks to Board Chair Cheryl Tully Stoll, members Charlie Sisitsky, Laurie Lee, Jason Smith, Cesar Monzon, and former members Dennis Giombetti and
Michael Bower.

Of note for the 2018 Team Framingham program is the change spearheaded by Board of Selectman Chair Cheryl Tully Stoll and supported by the entire board to amend the manner in which the Team Framingham charities are chosen. An open application process was adopted and the 5 Team Framingham charities are now selected by a random selection drawing, just like the runners have been for 5 years now.

The Team Framingham Steering Committee also wishes to acknowledge and thank the following individuals for their hard work and assistance in overseeing the runner and charity application processes and preparing for the random selection drawings this past Monday: Town Manager Bob Halpin, Assistant Town Manager Jim Duane, Town Human Resources Director Dolores Hamilton, Town Clerk Valerie Mulvey, Assistant Town Clerk Lisa Ferguson, Michelle Fletcher (Town Manager’s Office), Jeanette Galliardt (Town Manager’s Office), Town Public Information Officer Nichol Figueiredo, Town Director of Media Services Ron Rego, and Susan Petroni of the Framingham Source.

Finally, a special shout out to Board of Selectmen Chair and City Councilor-Elect Cheryl Tully Stoll, Former Selectman and City Councilor-Elect Dennis Giombetti and three time Team Framingham corporate sponsor and City Councilor-Elect Mike Cannon for taking time from their busy schedules to join us for the random selection drawing and helping out by choosing some of the team runners and charities.

Inquiries about our program can be made via email to

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply