SLIDESHOW: Giombetti Elected Chair of First Framingham City Council

UPDATED with more photos.


FRAMINGHAM – Former Framingham Selectman Dennis Giombetti was elected the first chair of the Framingham City Council.

The 11-member City Council met for he first time tonight, November 15.

Giombetti, who was elected Councilor for District 5, was unanimously elected, and was the only nominee for chair.

Current Framingham Selectman Charlie Sisitsky was unanimously elected vice chair of the Council. Sisitsky was elected Councilor for District 1 (Precincts 1 and 2) last Tuesday.

Before the start of the meeting City Clerk Valerie Mulvey issued the oath of office to the 11 Councilors.

Besides Giombetti and Sisitsky, members of the new Framingham City Council include at-large Councilors George King and Selectman Cheryl Tully Stoll, and district Councilors are Pam Richardson, Adam Steiner, Mike Cannon, Mike Rossi, Margareth Shepard, Judith Grove, and Edgardo Torres.

Mayor-elect Yvonne Spicer attended the meeting, as did Town Manager Bob Halpin.

Sisitsky and Tully Stoll are the only individuals in the 317-year history of Framingham to hold both a Selectman and a City Council position at the same time.


Photos by Susan Petroni/Petroni Media Company ©2017. All Rights Reserved.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply