Town Clerk: Information You Need For The Sept. 26 Preliminary Election

The following is submitted from the Framingham Town Clerk’s Office:


The City of Framingham preliminary election will take place on Tuesday, September 26.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The voter registration deadline for the City Election is Wednesday, September 6 at 8 p.m.

You may register in the Clerk’s office or on the Secretary of State’s website at: www

If you are already registered to vote you do not have to re-register.

The precincts and polling locations have not changed. Voters will still vote in their precincts; however the city will have 9 districts with two precincts in each district as follows:
District Precincts
1 — 1 and 2
2 — 3 and 5
3 — 4 and 7
4 — 6 and 9
5 — 8 and 12
6 — 10 and 11
7 — 13 and 14
8 — 15 and 18
9 — 16 and 17

You may locate your district by address at the following site:

On July 19,  there was a drawing to determine the order in which names of candidates appear on the ballot for each office. 
There are 7 candidates for mayor. The mayoral candidates as they appear on the ballot are: Joshua Horrigan, John Stefanini, Dhruba Sen, Mark Tilden, Yvonne Spicer, Benjaman Neves-Grigg and Priscila Sousa.

The two with the highest vote totals will appear on the November 7 City of  Framingham election ballot.

There are 5 candidates for the 2 At Large City Council seats. The candidates as they appear on the ballot are: Cheryl Tully Stoll, Pablo Maia, George King, Jr., Samuel Mercurio, Jr. and Christine Long. The four with the most votes will appear on the November 7 ballot.

Six of the 9 districts have candidates for District Council. The 2 with the highest vote totals in each district will appear on the November 7 ballot.

The District Council candidates as they appear on the ballot are:
District 1 (1 & 2): Heather Bachman, Gerald Bloomfield, Joseph Norton and Charlie
District 3 (4 & 7): Joel Winett, Richard Weader,II, Katherine Murphy and Adam
District 4 (6& 9): Michael Cannon, James Pillsbury and Amanda Shepard.
District 5 (8& 12): Cheryl Gordon, Robert Case and Dennis Giombetti.
District 6 (10& 11): Scott Ellinwood, Michael Rossi, Brian Dorfman and Philip
Ottaviani, Jr.
District 7 (13& 14): Sylvia Ruiz, William Lynch and Margareth Shepard.

There are no preliminary races for District Council in District 2 (3& 5), District 8 (15& 18) and District 9 (16& 17). These candidates will appear on the November 7 ballot.

Some of the District Council candidates have their signs on property that is not in their district.

Only the councilors living in your district will appear on your ballot.

Sample ballots are on the Town website to view before you vote on election day.

There are no preliminary races for School Committee. School Committee Candidates will appear on the November 7 ballot. Framingham will elect 9 School Committee members – one from each district.

Currently, there are seven School Committee members, all elected at-large.

Once the finalists are determined after the September 26 preliminary election, their names will be posted on the Town website under Town Clerk.

The Framingham League of Women Voters is holding a Candidate Showcase on Saturday, September
9 from 1 to 4 p.m. in Nevins Hall at the Memorial Building. It will begin with brief statements from the District Council candidates. Next, the At-Large Council candidates will answer questions posed by the LWV Moderator. The showcase will close with mayoral candidates answering questions posed by the LWV Moderator This candidate showcase will be broadcast on the town’s cable station up until the September 26 preliminary election.


Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply