UPDATED: Very Close Election, But Framingham Votes To Become A City; 2 School Incumbents Ousted

Originally posted at 8:42 p.m. with ballot question results.

Updated with Selectmen, School Committee, and Moderator races. Last updated on April 5 at 10 a.m. with official certified results.


FRAMINGHAM – By the narrowest of margins, Framingham voters decided to make the Town a City, in a historic election on April 4.

“Officially,” from the Town Clerk’s office, the vote was 5,689 to 5,582 to be a city. A margin of 107 votes. The percentage was 50.16 to 49.23.

That close a margin means the opponents to the city form of government, including Not This Charter group, may request a recount on Wednesday, April 5, however the Framingham Clerk’s office released official certified results this morning, April 5.

The City charter question failed in Precincts 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 12, 16, and 17. It passed in 10 of the 18 precincts.

The largest voter turnout was in Precinct 4 with 40% of the registered voters. The lowest was in precinct 17 with 5% of the registered voters.

Framingham no longer is the largest town in the Commonwealth or New England, but the newest city in Massachusetts.

Framingham has 39,910 registered voters and 11,340 went to the polls on Tuesday – a 28.4% voter turnout. That is significant, as the municipal election in 2016 drew just 14.5% of registered voters, and there was only a 7 percent turnout in 2015.

The race for three School Committee seats was even closer than the ballot question.

Framingham voters re-elected School Committee member Michelle Brosnahan. She topped the ticket with 4,664 votes.

Also elected was two new School Committee members Scott Wadland (4,339 votes) and Cheryl Gordon (4,292 votes).

Gordon won her seat over incumbent Jim Stockless (4,289) by just 3 votes.

Incumbent Don Taggart came in last with 3,583 votes. Click here to read more about the School Committee.

Selectmen Cheryl Tully Stoll and Laurie Lee were re-elected. Stoll topped the ticket with 5,386 votes. Lee received 5,090 votes. Their opponents were Gwendolyn Holbrow (3,245) and Deb Butler (2,866).

Teri Banerjee was re-elected moderator, defeating Town Meeting member Ray Marchand 5,305 to 3,758 votes.

What Does The City Vote Mean?

With the approval of the ballot question to make Framingham a City, voters will elect a Mayor, an 11-member City Council (2 at-large and 9 neighborhood councilors) and a 9-member School Committee (elected by district.) The current 7-member School Committee is elected at large.

All those who won tonight will need to win in a November 2017 election, to continue to server the voters of Framingham.

If there are enough candidates, there will be a primary election for Mayor, City Council, and School Committee in September, with the final election on the first Tuesday in November. The new leaders would begin serving on January 1, 2018.

Between now and January, Framingham Selectmen will be in charge with the transition. The Charter approved by voters also lays out a detailed process on how the transition will happena nd who has a say in it.

In between, Town Meeting will meet for its final-ever Annual Meeting later this month. That legislative branch is still charged with approving both the municipal and School budgets, that start July 1, 2017.

Town of Framingham Election Results

Besides the town-wide contested races, there were several uncontested races on April 4, plus several Town Meeting members elected for the final time in Framingham.

Town Clerk Valerie Mulvey was elected for the final time with 73.28 percent of the vote or 8,304 votes. Under the city form of government, the City Clerk position is appointed and not elected.

Christine Long was re-elected to the Framingham Planning Board with 63.66 percent of the vote or 7,214 votes. She will be the last Planning Board member elected in Framingham. Under the city form of government, Framingham Planning Board members will be appointed and not elected. Only one city in the Commonwealth elects Planning Board members.

Framingham elected four library trustees. Topping the ticket was incumbents Joanne Thompson(6,191 votes) and Elizabeth Roy (6,094 votes.) Also elected were  Arthur Finstein (6,023 votes) and Steven Malchman (5,554 votes). Each was elected for three years. Under the City form of government, library trustees will continue to be elected.

Michael Rossi (6,601) and A.J.Mulvey (6,552) were elected to the Keefe Technical School Committee for a 3-year term.

George P. King Jr. was elected for a 5-year term as a Trustee for Edgell Grove Cemetery with 7,574 votes and Stephen Starr was re-elected to the Framingham Housing Authority with 7,176 votes.




Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply