Tuesday is Election Day in Framingham

FRAMINGHAM – Tomorrow, Tuesday, April 4, Framingham voters will decide if Framingham should remain as the largest Town in New England or move to a City form of government with a Mayor.

Why vote yes to become a city

Why vote no and stay a town.

Voters also will decide races for Selectmen, School Committee, and Town Moderator.

Polls will be open on Tuesday, April 4 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To see where to vote, click here.

Last year, voters created a 9-member Framingham Charter Commission. That Commission voted 8-1 to recommend voters approve a city form of government via home rule charter ballot question. A yes vote turns the Town of Framingham into a City.

Also on the Tuesday ballot four women vying for two 3-year seats on the Framingham Board of Selectmen.

Running for re-election are Selectmen Chair Cheryl Tully Stoll and Selectman Laurie Lee. Challenging the two are Town Meeting member Deborah Butler and former Town Meeting member Gwendolyn Holbrow.

There are five individuals seeking three 3-year seats on the Framingham School Committee.

Running for re-election are School Committee members Michelle Brosnahan, Donald Taggart, and Jim Stockless. Challenging the two are former Town Meeting member Cheryl Gordon and current Town-Wide PTO President Scott Wadland.

Under the proposed charter, the current 7-member School Committee elected town-wide would change to a 9-member School Committee elected by district. Presently, none of the current seven members on the School Committee live south of Route 9. If the charter question passes and voters say yes to a city, an election would be held in November to elect the new School Committee members, who would start on January 1, 2018.

The only other race this election season is for Town Moderator. Current Town Moderator Teri Banerjee is being challenged by Town Meeting member Raymond Marchand for a 1-year term. If the city question passes, Town Meeting and the Town Moderator position would be eliminated.

Town Clerk Valerie Mulvey is running unopposed for another term.

Library Trustee Sam Klaidman has chosen not to seek re-election. There are four individual running for four 3-year terms. Seeking re-election is Joanne Thompson, Elizabeth Roy, and Arthur Finestein. Also running for Library Trustee is Steve Malchman.

Christine Long is running unopposed for another term on the Framingham Planning Board. If the city vote passes, the Planning Board would be an appointed board and not elected.

South Middlesex Regional Vocational School Committee members AJ Mulvey and Michael Rossi are both running unopposed for another term to serve Framingham in regards to Keefe Technical Regional High School.

Edgell Grove Cemetery Trustee Barbara Ford took out nomination papers, but did not submit them to the Town Clerk’s office. There is one seat available this year. The only candidate to submit papers is former Framingham Town Manager George King Jr.

Framingham Housing Authority member Stephen Starr is seeking another term. He is the only candidate.


Editor’s Note: Framingham Source will not be endorsing an candidate nor will it take a position on the Town vs City question. 

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply