UPDATED: Framingham Democrats Elect 36 Delegates For June 3 Convention

The following is a press release from the Framingham Democratic Town Committee. Photo courtesy.


FRAMINGHAM – Well over 125 Framingham residents attended a packed-house Caucus on Sunday to elect 36 Delegates to attend the annual Democratic State Convention in Lowell on June 3.

They were joined by local and state elected officials including: Senator Karen Spilka, Newton Mayor Setti Warren, State Representatives Chris Walsh and Jack Lewis, former Senator David Magnani and the former Chair of the State Democratic Party John Walsh. National Committeewoman Kate Donahue was joined by many members of the State Committee.

The attendees heard from several candidates running in the upcoming town election. Jim Stockless, an incumbent running to retain his seat on the school committee, Selectmen Chair Cheryl Tully Stoll and a challenger Gwendolyn Holbrow and Ray Marchand, candidate for the Town Moderator seat, outlined their goals and priorities.

Three gubernatorial hopefuls had a chance to address the audience about their platform. Former budget chief under Gov. Patrick, Jay Gonzalez; well known author, environmentalist and social activist Robert Massie; and Newton Mayor Setti Warren laid out their plans to run to unseat Charlie Baker as Governor.

The caucus elected 18 women and 17 men as delegates to the Convention. Of particular note this year was the age range of delegates elected. The caucus was well attended by students from Framingham High School, and the delegates range in age from 17 to 80 years.

The women elected were Cheryl Andes, Elsa Aviza, Jeanne Bullock, Carmen A. Chico, Glenda M. Cohen, Barbara J. Fontes, Janet Kennedy, Barbara LeDuc, Harvard student Mia Lin, Sandra M. Petrakis, Cindy Rubin, Summer F. Shaud, Margareth Shepard, FHS student Cassidy A. Slamin, Anna L. Styles, Erica Toochin,, Sripriya Moorthy and Cynthia Villanueva. Elected as alternates were Gwendolyn Holbrow, Maureen Medaglia and Vanessa Pendexter.

The males elected include-Craig Broyles, Robert Case, Jack Duffy, Kurt Fusaris, Michael G. Gatlin, Michael Hugo, Stephen Joyce, FHS student Ohad Klopman, David Magnani, Pablo Maia, Farooq Mirza, Manuel Ortega, Phil Ottaviani, Jared Snow, Larry E. Stoodt, Mel Warshaw and Joe Willoughby. Gregory Hayes, Christopher Lorant and Robert Stubbs were elected as alternates.

Ex-officio members that will attend as delegates with full voting privileges include Democratic Town Committee Chair Beverly Hugo and State Committee members Ilma Paixao, Norma Shulman, and Parwez Wahid.

As part of the Democratic Party’s policy of inclusion, youth, minorities and people with disabilities who were not elected as delegates or alternates may apply to be add-on delegates online at www.massdems.org. Youth applicants must be at least 18 by September 11, 2018, and 35 or under as of June 3, 2017, in order to apply. Completed applications must be received by 5 p.m. on April 4, 2017.

Democrats from across Massachusetts will attend the convention for the purpose of adopting a new State Party Platform. The convention will be held on Saturday June 3  at the Tsongas Arena in Lowell.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply