5 Running For 3 Framingham School Committee Seats

FRAMINGHAM – There are five people running for three Framingham School Committee seats.

The deadline to submit nomination papers was today, January 17 at 5 p.m.

The election is on Tuesday, April 4.

Running for re-election are School Committee members Michelle Brosnahan, Donald Taggart, and Jim Stockless

Challenging the two are former Town Meeting member Cheryl Gordon and current Town-Wide PTO President Scott Wadland.

Also on the April 4 ballot, will be a home rule charter question, asking residents to eliminate Framingham’s Town form of government in favor of a City form of government with a mayor, an 11-member City Council, and a 9-member School Committee.

Under the proposed charter, the current 7-member School Committee elected town-wide would change to a 9-member School Committee elected by district. Presently, none of the current seven members on the School Committee live south of Route 9.

If the charter question passes and voters say yes to a city, an election would be held in November to elect the new School Committee members, who would start on January 1, 2018.

Editor’s Note: Framingham Source will not be endorsing an candidate nor will it take a position on the Town vs City question. It has published an election guide. Click here to read it.

Framingham Source Editor Susan Petroni

Susan Petroni Framingham Source Editor Email: editor@FraminghamSource.com Phone: 508-315-7176

Leave a Reply